4doorVIPs Tercel SR5 BEAST

Post about yourself, your Tercel, or your Tercel projects in here, share pictures of your Tercel, or post trip threads!
4doorVIP
Top Notch Member
My tercel:: 1988 SR5 Wagon

4doorVIPs Tercel SR5 BEAST

Post by 4doorVIP »

Sup ya'll, I've been trolling these forums for a couple months and finally think I should post up my ride!

She's an 88 SR5 wagon 5-speed, 2 owner car!

Mechanically it runs, but I have some work ahead of me.
Body wise...rust on the wheels wells..typically yota rust

This will be my third Toyota, but first manual 4wd!
Everyone laughs and asks why I bought the thing, but I know how well these things handle in poor weater conditions (thx youtube!)

I've refinished all the wiper arms, battey tie down, and rad brackets..more to come later

things I need to do:
new rad
new brakes
seafoam treatment
bigger wheels/tires

Anyways here are some pictures
before engine detail
after engine detail
2JZGTE-powered Tercel SR5
ARCHINSTL
Goldie Forever
My tercel:: Goldie is a 1986 SR5 attualmente con Weber/also owned the first T4WD in STL in late '82

Re: 4doorVIPs Tercel SR5 BEAST

Post by ARCHINSTL »

Welcome to the Club!
Your engine bay cleaned up better than I would have thought.
Tom M>
T4WD augury?
"Oh, do not ask, 'What is it?' Let us go and make our visit."
T.S. Eliot - "The Love Song of J. Alfred Prufrock"
"Now and then we had a hope that, if we lived and were good, God would permit us to be pirates."
Mark Twain
Petros
Highest Ranking Member
My tercel:: '84 Tercel4wd w/extensive mods

Post by Petros »

Nice car, too bad about the rust. Are those alloy wheels or wheel covers?

I would suggest replacing the brake rotors and calipers with those from a '92 or newer Tercel, gives you 25 mm vented rotors and they swap right over with the addition of an 1/8th shim under the rotor. see the thread on brake up grade.
'87 Tercel 4wd SR5 (current engine swap project)
'84 Tercel 4wd (daily driver, with on going mods)