Cell Phones

Post here about...well...anything!
keith
Highest Ranking Member

Cell Phones

Post by keith »

Does anyone here use a prepaid cell phone? I've been using Tracfone for about 2 years now, but it doesn't always connect my calls, incoming or outgoing. Actually doesn't always is a bit of an understatement. Price is great though.

I'm going to try ATT for a little while, I just ordered a phone from them, but I've heard that they like to send you a lot of messages, and charge you for them, even if you don't want them or even read them. Not sure if that will be a problem as if I use a cell phone for 10 minutes in a month, that was a busy month for me, so if they steal a couple minutes each month, I'll probably still have plenty left over.

Paying $40/mo for a plan just doesn't make since for me or my wife because of our low usage. We don't do text messages, internet or fancy ring-tones or any of that stuff. Its more like a portable pay phone to us.

I have been looking into the Geezer phone (Jitterbug) but most of the blogs on the internet about it are very negative. Seems that they are having major problems with customer service.

And while I'm at it, why are the phones so damn small anyway, what's with that. Although I can still see the individual keys and read most of the displays, it can be very difficult to hit only one key at a time. And so many extra keys for all these useless menus.

Why not a reasonable size phone that grabs dial-tone when opened up, has only the 12 basic keys and maybe a power key to turn off in restaurants and theaters, and ends the call when closed. It would work like a POTS (Plain Old Telephone Service) phone.
ARCHINSTL
Goldie Forever
My tercel:: Goldie is a 1986 SR5 attualmente con Weber/also owned the first T4WD in STL in late '82

Re: Cell Phones

Post by ARCHINSTL »