1983 4wd Bucking like crazy up hills, and I'm in the mtns!

How-to's and repair secrets for your 4WD can be found here. Have a question? Ask it in here!
Ilovetrash
My tercel:: 1983,4wd, No mods yet

1983 4wd Bucking like crazy up hills, and I'm in the mtns!

Post by Ilovetrash »

Please please help.. !

I am pretty new at repairing cars. I've done some basics, struts, breaks, things an amateur can diagnose! I bought this car about 8 months ago, and I can't really tell how it was treated. It's not nearly as pristine as my 1980 Toyota Long Bed truck, but like all toyota's, it seems study! I can't seem to figure out this new (now month or two old) problem. When I am going up hills, which are pretty big out here in New Mexico, the cars bucks pretty hard. It happens in 4th and 5th gear, not constantly, but it does happen almost every time up any hill, slight incline, or large incline (bucking corresponds: bigger the hill, more the bucking).

Changed fuel filter, Changed fuel pump (big was of sixty bucks, bummer when it didn't work..), tried to find any disconnected hoses and I can't. The hoses all look pretty good too, but there are so many! Took it to a mechanic. He said he fixed it by fixing the timing, and the distributor cap was off, he said, and he put it back on, TO NO AVAIL, 80 bucks down the drain, and the problem has seemed to be getting worse. More frequent bucking.

I'm going to put new spark plugs in today, just to check and maintain. I'm going to re-check the hoses, too. All's I got is common sense for this one right now. Is there a technical way of going about this?

Is it the vacuum seal? If so, what are the necessary steps to getting to the source of the problem.

Oh yeah, one more thing: The car came with the 1984-19?? repair manual. Should I buy the 1983 manual or should I just stick with this one?