Help needed!!

General discussion about our beloved Tercel 4WD cars
mytercel

Help needed!!

Post by mytercel »

Hi - I've got an 87 tercel with a buggered engine. The heads gone bad and was only running on 3 cylinders. I've found a corolla 4A-F factory long-block and I'm wondering if this would be a bolt in install or a major challenge. Help needed as I'm new to all this. Opinions? Unfortunately, the other tercels I have are barely any better and the wreckers where I live are a joke. I'm a single father with no time, so I'm hiring the work done. Would this engine work? It looks like the exhaust is on the other side and the distributor is at the back causing firewall problems...
What do you think?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
rer233
Highest Ranking Member
My tercel:: Multiple

Re: Help needed!!

Post by rer233 »

4af is completly different from the 3ac fitted in our cars (i assume your engine is installed longitudnally rather than transverse.) if so, a 4ac from a corolla or chev. nova is pretty much a bolt- in affair. just have to swap intakes and accessory brackets (should be plenty of threads here with particulars.) if the head's the only problem, why not just fix it?? lots less work than swapping engines! hope this helps.
if it aint there, there's a good chance it won't break!
83 SR5 Silver/Blue (Snowmobile/work beater)-totaled but drivable
85 SR5 Blue
88 SR5 White (the 'good' one)-not anymore-totaled
87 fwd silver wagon a/t
87 4wd dx Cream (a/t- not anymore- now m/t)
Lil Beast
Top Notch Member
My tercel:: 81 tercel sr5 GTS (4age RWD and 4WD application on build up for the moment) now im running a 3a with weber 32 dmsa 100,corolla gts front suspension, sway bar and steering, troush exhaust

Post by Lil Beast »

Looks like the dizzy is gonna be in the way and that something you can't move around!
Dont let your eyes to fool you!!!

Labine R.
tercel4wdrules
Highest Ranking Member
My tercel:: None