CV Axles And Other Questions

Here's some good repair guides for your Tercel :) Look here for help first!
ReverendRadical
My tercel:: None yet. Hopefully soon!

CV Axles And Other Questions

Post by ReverendRadical »

Hello, I am planning on buying a tercel wagon next weekend, I know that it needs front CV axles and I have seen that some of the new ones don't fit. Does anybody have recommendations on ones that actually will fit?
I have never owned a tercel before or even any car this old. This will be my project car as I am a broke college student who needs something to work on throughout the year lol. I know this car needs carb work as well, and of course I have never worked on a carburetor. How hard would it be to switch over to the weber carb I hear so much about and is there any power gain from doing so? Any other thoughts or recommendations would be greatly appreciated. Thank you in advance!
NWMO
Highest Ranking Member

Re: CV Axles And Other Questions

Post by NWMO »

RR,

Trakmotive half shafts are reportedly best and I tend to prefer the stock Aisan carb.

Chris
Psalm 37:4 "Delight yourself in the Lord and he will give you the desires of your heart"

In remembrance of my friend ARCHINSTL:

T4WD augury?
"Oh, do not ask, 'What is it?' Let us go and make our visit."
T.S. Eliot - "The Love Song of J. Alfred Prufrock"

"Now and then we had a hope that, if we lived and were good, God would permit us to be pirates."
Mark Twain
dlb
Highest Ranking Member
My tercel:: '87 sr5, '83 dlx parts car

Post by dlb »

Welcome, Reverend Radical. I also prefer the stock carb. The weber is fine but it comes with its own issues, and they aren't super cheap either.