New Owner To Be

General discussion about our beloved Tercel 4WD cars
ReverendRadical
My tercel:: None yet. Hopefully soon!

New Owner To Be

Post by ReverendRadical »

Hello everyone. I am soon to be the new owner of a 1983 Tercel Wagon sr5 4x4. I am purchasing the car in Michigan here in a couple weeks. At the moment the engine is being resealed and put back in the car before I make a 350+ mile trek home with it. Since I am a college student and this is my second car, it will have to be on a bit of a budget and will take some time as ill only see it once or twice a month for 9 months of the year. But I thought I might ask a few random questions here that someone else can answer. Any help would be greatly appreciated! :D

Questions:
1. Is there really a considerable difference between the 3.73 and 4.11 geared transmissions? If so, what is the difference in top speeds and fuel economy?
2. I know that the most popular engine swags are other A series engines, but I REALLY love the 2zz-gte engine in my old Celica gt-s. I know its a transvers engine and it would have to be mounted longitudinally and use a different trans or just make the car fully fwd which would also take a lot of work, but it should still be possible... right? If I do all the fabrication myself at least I guess.
3. While I like the ideas of engine swaps, ive never done one before and id like to keep the idea of the tercel in the tercel with the 3A. Is there any way to slightly bump up the power numbers from the roughly 62hp to somewhere between 70 and 80hp? Could the carb be adjusted enough to produce that kind of power or a bigger/better carb or do I need to go to electronic injection?
4. Other than common maintenance items, is there anything that I should be ready to replace or fix? The car has 270k miles on the body and about 100k on the trans.

Again, any info or ideas will be greatly appreciated! Thank you in advance!
SirFoxx
Top Notch Member
My tercel:: 1981 Toyota Tercel w/ 7age