So close I can taste it

General discussion about our beloved Tercel 4WD cars
johnnyraggs
My tercel:: 1986

So close I can taste it

Post by johnnyraggs »

Hi all, so I'm new to the forum but have been cruising through the posts for a while now. I'm currently tercel less, but am about to change that! Here's a little history....

I'm a automotive tech here in the great city of Calgary, Alberta, Canada and obviously have had more cars then girlfriends.....which may be a sad thing to say..... But not when you have heard all the cars I've owned at one point or another I guess. Anyway, a number if years ago, I was an apprentice at a Toyota dealership in the city and in need of a car. My parts manager at the time had a rusty old '86 tercel 4wd wagon that he sold me for $200 and 1/8 oz of a green smokable substance that I used to encounter in my youth.... But that's a different story altogether.... About 1 week into owning this car and I was in love. It was my do anything, go anywhere car. To make a long story short, eventually it started having starting issues, I rebuilt the carb and changed all the regular things to no avail...... One morning went to start it to go to work and all she would do was crank....crank crank , crank unit, the battery died. I called my mom to come get me and once at work, called they kidney foundation (a charity in the city) and had them tow it away for a measly $25 tax receipt. I got home that day to no tercel and it was one of the saddest days of my life.....what did I do?????