Hi from New Mexico

Post about yourself, your Tercel, or your Tercel projects in here, share pictures of your Tercel, or post trip threads!
irowiki
Highest Ranking Member

Hi from New Mexico

Post by irowiki »

I figured since I'm getting involved in the board more I might as well post here.

My name's Paul and I live in Farmington, NM with my wife and two year old son. I fix computers for a living and have never been too car mechanically inclined. In most cases I know enough (or not enough) to be dangerous, but I'm improving!

I've owned the following cars:

Late 80's Nissan Pickup (hated this thing, my first ride, no power anything, the engine was a lame duck, manual trans, no AC, etc)
1981 Chevy Suburban 6.2 (family car hand me down, served me well, sold at 310k+ miles)
1995 Dodge Neon (bought at 68k, car was not very well taken care of, sold by 110k due to issues)
2005 Dodge Neon (first ebay car, bought at 23k in 2008, lives on as my youngest sister's car)
2001 Toyota Camry (second ebay car, 127k miles, sold to family for sister's car)
2000 Dodge Neon (miles was somewhere in the 100k's, totaled by someone running a stop sign a week after I bought it)
2003 Buick Regal (third ebay car, bought at 88k, at 116k now, the "wife" car)
1981 Toyota Tercel (fourth ebay car, bought as a cheap commuting car, manual, no AC, pretty much bare bones)

As you can see, I am a fan of ebay :lol:

The Tercel came about when we were looking for a cheap car I could use to commute to work. At the time I didn't really know much about Tercels, this one popped up on ebay and was within driving range, so I snapped it up. Of course, after that, I found out about 4WD Tercels and wish I had waited! I went back to toyotanation and the first thing I found about tercels was "yeah for your 1980 you should go over to tercel4wd.com since the engine is the same, they're pretty good over there" so here I am!