new to tercel in the north coast

Post about yourself, your Tercel, or your Tercel projects in here, share pictures of your Tercel, or post trip threads!
terastoria
My tercel:: 1984 SR5 wagon

new to tercel in the north coast

Post by terastoria »

hey guys my name is travis, i'm going to be looking at and more than likely getting a 1984 tercel sr5 5 speed tomorrow (12/23/2015). the PO did say that the carb base plate was cracked, i'm not quite sure what she meant by that. i'm pretty mechanically inclined but idk what her level of knowledge is or if she's talking about the right thing... anyway is there somewhere that sells that plate? i'm not even sure exactly what i'll be looking for until tomorrow when i see the car in person. also there's a leak in the cab somewhere. she said it's mainly leaking onto the driver side floor and a little on the passenger side as well. again i'll be looking at all this tomorrow.
anything else i should keep and eye out for? i'm new to tercel's but have had plenty of cars in the past and did all the work on them.
terastoria

Re: new to tercel in the north coast

Post by terastoria »

after finding a restore thread from jackwagon it might appear that the drain holes are plugged up so once i get the wagon cleaning those will be my first chore.
dlb
Highest Ranking Member
My tercel:: '87 sr5, '83 dlx parts car

Post by dlb »

check the faq re: things to inspect when buying one: viewtopic.php?f=2&t=7442

the windshield is always my first suspect for leaks. sun roofs are second.

not sure what is meant by carb base plate. maybe the base of the carb is cracked, maybe the manifold is cracked? if you're lucky, maybe the gasket between the base of the carb and the manifold just needs to be replaced and is causing a big vacuum leak. i would inspect those things.
terastoria

Post by terastoria »