Eugene Oregon Misadventures of the third kind!

Post about yourself, your Tercel, or your Tercel projects in here, share pictures of your Tercel, or post trip threads!
Rivrfox
My tercel:: 1984 Toyota Tercel 4wd DLX wagon

Eugene Oregon Misadventures of the third kind!

Post by Rivrfox »

Hello All!

[TL:DR} Eugene, OR craigslist 84 sr5 wagon bought from CL with tranny out of the car while on east coast. Bartering mechanic work for shop cleaning but that trade has run its course for the most part. Mechanic trusted PO that tranny was good, wasn't. Need to purchase tranny or cannabalize the parts car tranny that slips out of 4wd in 1st/2nd. Front Passenger wheel bearing needs replaced and this car is Vermont bound or bust!

Love the site here and in a bit of a pickle and a budget. This is my third Tercel but I am a novice mechanic at best. I will regale you with the story and photos of the first two at a later date. I am the PROUD yet mechanically uninclined owner of a tough yet lovable cream colored 84 sr5 4wd wagon that is currently not named yet (manufactured 10/1983 I believe)!

The story starts with me seeing this car on craigslist while visiting family & working in CT. A female adult owned daily driver for most of it's life to about just under 200k. Babied and taken good care of. It's last 15 years it's been not used as much and not garage like the first fifteen. Result is 225k miles and a guy bought it last year with a bad clutch. Got 1/2 through the clutch job and broke a throwout bearing retainer clip and sold it due to...hmmm. Sold it to me stating that the transmission was good as well as the engine but it just had the clutch done and the t/out bearing retaing clip was broken.

Here's where things get interesting! :)