Newb looking for a bit of info on 3A scv

How-to's and repair secrets for your 4WD can be found here. Have a question? Ask it in here!
IHblarp
Advanced Member
My tercel:: '83 SR5, JDM 3A-SCV motor swap

Newb looking for a bit of info on 3A scv

Post by IHblarp »

Hi, I'm a newb to this forum and tercels. I found a tercel for sale that has a blown engine its an 83 with the 3AC engine. the guy selling it has already bought a "crate motor" which he says came from japan because they have to trade out motors every 20-30k? sounded weird to me but i'll go with it for now. The other engine has 3A SCV stamped on it instead of just 3AC. Are these interchangable? parts easy to find? ect? Could anyone point me in the direction of some lit. about these engines. I really want to get this car but also need to know what i'm getting myself into.

Any help would be appreciated, I tried to search but didn't have much luck, so any tips on navigating this site would be nice too.

Thanks
tercel4wdrules
Highest Ranking Member
My tercel:: None

Re: Newb looking for a bit of info on 3A scv

Post by tercel4wdrules »

Hello and welcome! Yes, the JDM 3A-SCV can be used in place of the 3AC, you'll just have to use the 3AC intake and exhaust manifolds. I see these engines in the junkyard all the time in Tercels and sometimes even in the AE82 Corollas. The SCV stands for Swirl Control Valve, which the 3AC did not have, I believe it has a vacuum doodad at the back of the head that activates it. At least that's what I remembered seeing last time I saw one at the junkyard. The replacement JDM engines for the 3AC have been getting harder to find, at least down here in So Cal, sometimes they don't have them in stock at the importers. I hope this helps.
2015 Honda Fit EX "Malachi"
2001 Toyota Corolla CE "Eugene"
IHblarp
Advanced Member

Post by IHblarp »