I'm new to diy mechanics. pls help me identify this sound

How-to's and repair secrets for your 4WD can be found here. Have a question? Ask it in here!
Holly
My tercel:: 86 2wd

I'm new to diy mechanics. pls help me identify this sound

Post by Holly »

Hey everyone,

I picked up this terck back in November, it's my daily. It's got a lot of work that needs done, but here's the 2 most obvious issues (and please let me know if I should cease driving it until these are addressed):

- timing. It's set to factory, but I think I need to adjust it per the pulsating noise. I don't know if I should lower or raise it? I've never personally messed with timing; Jhanek set it to factory for me but I think that's what caused the pulsating noise

- the shut down! This thing keeps firing sometimes up to like 10 seconds after I turn it off. I just replaced the fuel and air filter. Everything I read online says it could be one of like a hundred issues, so I wanted to check with you all first before I tear the thing apart.

My car experience is limited to doing my own general maintenance since forever, but not until this car did I decided I wanted to start taking things apart and learning how to fix. So, please talk to me like a kindergartender, this will all be new to me

Here's a video:
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1_yW9Rq ... sp=sharing
86, 2wd, 5spd, cruise, fully stock
rip
Petros
Highest Ranking Member
My tercel:: '84 Tercel4wd w/extensive mods

Re: I'm new to diy mechanics. pls help me identify this sound

Post by Petros »

hI Holly, got you covered! welcome.