3ac Flywheel Dimensions

How-to's and repair secrets for your 4WD can be found here. Have a question? Ask it in here!
Pleco815
My tercel:: 1986 4wd

3ac Flywheel Dimensions

Post by Pleco815 »

hello I'm new to the forum. I'm planning on doing a 4age swap into my 86 tercel 4wd. I bought a new 3ac flywheel online to have modified to fit the 4age. (bought a new one so i could still drive the tercel around while doing some of the preliminary swap stuff.) when comparing the two flywheels however it seems that the 3ac I ordered is actually bigger OD than the 4age flywheel. 3ac = 10 and 7/16" or 265mm 4age (bigport)=10" or 254mm. I am not an expert so any help is appreciated. I'm just wondering if I bought the wrong flywheel.
Petros
Highest Ranking Member
My tercel:: '84 Tercel4wd w/extensive mods

Re: 3ac Flywheel Dimensions

Post by Petros »

I can tell you in a few days, my flywheel is in the machine shop getting resurfaced.

I have converted two flywheels, 1) modfied a Tercel3ac flywheel to fit on the 4age, and also 2) modfied a 4age flywheel to fit in Tercel.

1) required you to have the 4 of the six holes welded up (to do it properly the flywheel has to be heated to a dull red glow or weld will fail), than it has to be machined to match the eight bolt 4age crank shaft. you will use the same ring gear and clutch as the stock engine. the stock 3ac flywheel should also be lightened, it is too heavy at 19 lbs, if you can get it down to 14lbs or less that would be good. It will also have to be reblanced.

2) requires you to remove the 4age ring gear, recut the ring gear seat to fit the smaller dia 3ac ring gear. this I think is much simpler and less costly. It also allows you to use the larger 4age clutch, the stock 4age flywheel is lighter than the 3ac flywheel already, but it could also loose some weight. you may have to clearance the bell housing a little if the larger clutch is at risk of making contact with the bell housing.