1984 SR5 - Should I let these parts go? (Ie: An Enthusiast Newbie)

General discussion about our beloved Tercel 4WD cars
BlueJay
My tercel:: 1987 4wd sr5 6 speed wagon

1984 SR5 - Should I let these parts go? (Ie: An Enthusiast Newbie)

Post by BlueJay »

Greetings, all! This is my first time posting on this forum, and honestly, I'm quite nervous! This forum has been a go-to for questions, references, and general indulgences since I scored my own Tercel early last year. She wasn't drivable until much later in the year after 8 months of looking for a transmission, but I couldn't stop looking! I live in CT, her transmission is from CA, and the transmission rebuild kit from the western coast of Canada. I have almost zero working vehicle knowledge, and over the last year or so, I have realized what a deep puddle I have stepped into.

But I love this car.

My daily driver is a 1987 Nordic Blue SR5 with a 6-speed transmission. However, I came across a parts car a few hours away and I had to jump on it. The second Tercel is a 1984 Metallic Blue SR5, also 6-speed.

My major, nail-biting concern is that I'm going to let parts go off of the 84 that I could potentially use. As I am not car-savvy at all, this makes this entire endeavor QUITE difficult. I am just learning about car parts, how to find their part numbers, and what makes something compatible - this is LARGELY with help from this forum.

The bottom line: I am out of funds and need to move this parts car out of its storage unit ASAP, but it would break my heart if I let a potential kidney for my car walk away. I have a buyer for some of the parts, the carburetor being the biggest head-scratcher for me.

Thank you, everyone! I hope I don't need to completely tuck my tail here, but I am in awe of your collective knowledge and had to bite the bullet and just ask!

Janelle
Abletobecain
Top Notch Member
My tercel:: 1983 4WD DLX, 1986 4WD SR5, 1985 4WD SR5, 1983 4WD SR5