Fix, Sell Or Donate???

General discussion about our beloved Tercel 4WD cars
LoveMyTercel
My tercel:: 1984 Toyota 4WD SR5 Wagon

Fix, Sell Or Donate???

Post by LoveMyTercel »

Hello Tercel Forum,

I have a 1984 Tercel 4WD SR5 wagon with 190K miles sitting in the garage of our vacation cabin in Minnesota in an undriveable condition. My brother and a neighbor boy were attempting to replace the carburetor as a favor and the neighbor said he knew how to do it. He wound up taking apart the throttle body linkage (or that is what he said) and has no idea how to put it back together. The parts are sitting in a bucket and the car has not been worked on for two years. It is just taking up space in the garage. I am not a mechanic and there is no one in the area who knows how to put the linkage back together. I am the original owner and I love the car so much! I drove it for 26 years in Colorado and then moved it to Minnesota as a backup car. But it doesn't run well in the humidity of Minnesota and is certainly not useful at all now. I hate the thought of getting rid of it, but don't think there is anyone nearby who could fix it. The car does have some rust around the wheel wells and on the back gate, but overall is in pretty good shape. Does anyone know a good mechanic in central Minnesota? I am contemplating donating it to a charity, but I can't stand the thought of it going to the crusher!

Any thoughts folks?
Thanks
xirdneh
Highest Ranking Member
My tercel:: 87 tercel 4x4 wagon w/reringed engine, 83 tercel 4x4 wagon w/salvaged engine and 4.1 Diff's

Re: Fix, Sell Or Donate???

Post by xirdneh »

there is a carb video on youtube for these tercels

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kCzFuPqssfE

it might help ya
Love those Tercell 4x4 wagons but they sure suffer from road noise.
splatterdog
Highest Ranking Member

Post by splatterdog »

I have a complete carb you can use for reference, or if you are really bold, bolt it on. I cannot guarantee it is a working carb though.