Transmissions and torque

General discussion about our beloved Tercel 4WD cars
Eveahlers

Transmissions and torque

Post by Eveahlers »

Hello I'm wondering if there is any info on strength of transmissions. I'm looking at lowering a tercel for peppy windy road car. Not a ton of power but more than stock
teranfirbt
Highest Ranking Member
My tercel:: '86 SR5 4WD, 5AFE, lifted rear, 195/70/14 tires

Re: Transmissions and torque

Post by teranfirbt »

I've been running a 4AFE in my car for a couple of years now without any trouble, and I don't drive it easy.
Someone's got a 20 valve 4AGE (~160hp) running on a T4WD transmission. Haven't heard anything specific about problems.
If the T4WD trans is built anything like Toyota's other transmissions, it'll handle a fair bit over stock power. The limits are more about how you drive it. I imagine you could get up to the 180 hp range without too much trouble, as long as you avoid the smokey burnouts and other shenanigans. The differential is probably the weakest link, they aren't exactly big in these cars.
Eveahlers

Post by Eveahlers »

I'm looking at a highly tuned 4ac, so it sounds like the tranny should handle it. Is there a better year for a differential?
teranfirbt
Highest Ranking Member
My tercel:: '86 SR5 4WD, 5AFE, lifted rear, 195/70/14 tires

Post by teranfirbt »

I believe the '85+ years got aluminum shift forks that are more reliable. Otherwise it's probably more down to miles than specific years.
Petros
Highest Ranking Member
My tercel:: '84 Tercel4wd w/extensive mods

Post by Petros »