New server! New location!

Talk about Forum Improvements or anything about the forums.
Post Reply
Neu
Highest Ranking Member
Posts: 1117
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2007 7:59 am

New server! New location!

Post by Neu » Sun Aug 19, 2012 2:44 am

Hey everyone,

I apologize for the downtime on this server move. I began the process and had life get in the way yet again. I also decided to do many upgrades on the server hardware and change it's location to London, UK. On top of that i deployed it in a new environment that took a good amount of learning on my part. I challenged myself on this one.

Over the next few days there may a few unexpected problems related to the move. If you receive ANY errors please email them to me at admin@tercel4wd.com

I do not expect there to be any issues with the @tercel4wd.com email server. They're separate and hosted by Google.

I will be working over the next few days to restore uploaded forum files. They are very numerous and very large in size. Even with my business connection I can't upload them all that quickly.

Thank you for your patience you guys,
Chad Neu

Tercel__jon
Top Notch Member
Posts: 465
Joined: Thu Dec 23, 2010 1:44 pm
My tercel:: 1983 4wd Wagon

Re: New server! New location!

Post by Tercel__jon » Sun Aug 19, 2012 3:33 pm

Its ok man. You do a great job and Im really thankfull we're back up and running again. I was having withdrawals. lol

john
Advanced Member
Posts: 97
Joined: Thu Oct 20, 2011 10:13 pm
My tercel:: 85 toy tercel 2wd wagon (formerly a 4wd automatic)
Location: Fresno, CA
Contact:

Re: New server! New location!

Post by john » Sun Aug 19, 2012 5:18 pm

Chad,
Thank you so much for your hard work on this site. I did not realize how hooked I was until it was gone.
2WD John

tercelgüey
Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jun 15, 2012 8:21 pm
My tercel:: 85 toyota tercel sr5

Re: New server! New location!

Post by tercelgüey » Sun Aug 19, 2012 7:24 pm

Thanks for getting the website back up
was about to cancell our internet.

Neu
Highest Ranking Member
Posts: 1117
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2007 7:59 am

Re: New server! New location!

Post by Neu » Mon Aug 20, 2012 10:26 am

tercelgüey wrote:Thanks for getting the website back up
was about to cancell our internet.

lol

User avatar
dlb
Highest Ranking Member
Posts: 6362
Joined: Mon Jul 06, 2009 9:03 pm
My tercel:: none currently, 7 previous
Location: shawnigan lake, bc, canada

Re: New server! New location!

Post by dlb » Mon Aug 20, 2012 10:52 am

tercelgüey wrote:Thanks for getting the website back up
was about to cancell our internet.
double lol

JRI1988sr5
Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Feb 08, 2012 6:14 pm
My tercel:: 1988,toyota,tercelsr5, stock besides zip ties
Location: Shelton WA

Re: New server! New location!

Post by JRI1988sr5 » Mon Aug 20, 2012 11:45 am

as soon as it went down i needed to look at the fsm i was freaking out one day i checked it five times to see if it was back up yet!

User avatar
CathodeRayTube
Top Notch Member
Posts: 262
Joined: Mon Aug 04, 2008 8:23 pm
My tercel:: 1985 4x4 Automatic - restored
Location: Gettysburg Pennsylvania

Re: New server! New location!

Post by CathodeRayTube » Sat Aug 25, 2012 9:39 pm

I downloaded the FSM & just consulted my local copy while the site was down. I find it interesting and think its neat that your actually hosting the site from your own server/hardware instead of farming it out to a hosting company...i guess thats what your doing? am i wrong? iv attempted to host my own website from my home computer...which is always on so it might as well be a server...however my DSL connection seems to be too unreliable to...well...be relied upon...& has a semi-dynamic IP address that may or may not change every time i reset the modem...so it all gets to be a big PITA...and i gave up with it..

Neu
Highest Ranking Member
Posts: 1117
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2007 7:59 am

Re: New server! New location!

Post by Neu » Sun Aug 26, 2012 3:19 pm

Hosting a website from a home connection is pretty unreliable even at best. Most ISPs also have clauses in their TOS that explicitly state you cannot do that. Business connections are fine.

Anyway, it's hosted on a linode UK server, http://www.linode.com. It's basically the same as if I were hosting it at my house, cept it's in london and has a great internet backbone.

And yeh DSL connections are nowhere near reliable enough, lol.

Post Reply