Trip to Big Bear, CA

Post here about...well...anything!
tercel4wdrules
Highest Ranking Member
My tercel:: None

Trip to Big Bear, CA

Post by tercel4wdrules »

Well... I just wanted to share some pics from my recent adventure. I would have posted this in the gallery section but since it doesn't involve my Tercel, then I chose to post it here.

I got an offer to go with a friend of my mom's to Big Bear, CA which has our local mountain resorts. It's a 100 miles from LA. I had been yearning to go up here for about two years. I accepted the offer and all I can say is WOW! Since I don't see snow down here in Los Angeles it was a great experience. Not to mention it was 27 F outside according to the thermometer on the car's dashboard. When we left Los Angeles it was maybe 70 F and it was a big difference.

I have some pics to share... I was riding in an '05 Toyota Corolla.

The snow capped mountains were where we headed... Big Bear is nested in between the San Bernardino National Forest.

More views of the San Bernardino Mountains...

This is a picture of the steep mountain passes we had to ascend to reach the highest point. A Tercel would have to be in 3rd gear and moving along at 30-35 mph... this is an estimate, I might be giving less credit than what it can potentially do. This particular Corolla was climbing steadily at 40-45 mph at 2.6-3k rpm. It has a 4 spd auto.

I took this shot from the back window to show the steepness.

Another mountain view...

Getting closer to our destination...

7000 ft... I never had been at this altitude.

What's that I see? Yes, it's snow!! Hooray!

I'm not sure if it's visible, but there's a lake in the background. It's called Big Bear Lake.

I knew I wasn't going to leave this place without seeing a Tercel 4WD and that's exactly what I saw as we were leaving...

There was another sign I saw that said "Chains Required" through a portion of the highway, but 4WD vehicles with snow tires are ok.