Hello from Michigan, just bought a 1984 Sr5

General discussion about our beloved Tercel 4WD cars
TooManyToyota's
My tercel:: 1984 Tercel 4wd SR5, 1987 tercel 4wd 4a-fe swap

Hello from Michigan, just bought a 1984 Sr5

Post by TooManyToyota's »

I've been scouring craigslist compulsively for the past three years just waiting for one of these cars to come up for sale within 500 miles of my house in western Michigan. I've also lurked on this and other Toyota websites learning all I could about these little cars, and last month I finally caught a break and found a really nice Tercel from Alabama for sale in Detroit. I ended up paying a little too much for it (2250) but I wasn't going to let it go, it's the first tercel 4wd i've even seen with my own eyes in my short 19 year life.

some stuff about it
no A/c
no sunroof
3a-c
102k miles
clean interior (took some serious cleaning out, I actually found a bag of weed while I was lifting all the mats :lol: ) some plastic components are brittle/cracked, ill show pics eventually
trans is a little bit crunchy and whines a bit when cold which is strange for a low mileage car like this but I haven't checked the level or flushed it yet. the previous owner said the clutch was recently done though, so I'd assume they flushed it
not much feel at all in the clutch pedal. normal?
smells like fuel at idle, prev owner said it was a fuel pump issue, any advice?
the cold hot slider is stuck at cold, when you try to slide it to hot, it drags the vent slider with it and is very stiff
the first day I got it
painting the plastic on the sides
engine bay before/after
a video on my youtube channel about it in layman's terms for the non car people on my facebook
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gYYR172zML8
I've already taken this thing to a few shows and had mostly people laughing at it which is fine with me I plan on driving it this winter and then doing some more serious restoration work
Cars
1984 Tercel Sr5 4wd 6 speed Red/tan