LSD Solution

General discussion about our beloved Tercel 4WD cars
djcrawford1981
My tercel:: 88 snorkel, lead filled rear diff, weber

LSD Solution

Post by djcrawford1981 »

Hello everyone I'm new to this site but I have been snooping around it since late 2010. I wanted to let yall know I have successfully installed a Phantom Grip style LSD conversion into the front differential and the same can be done for the back. I used a unit that is for late model Acura Integra. The only bit of modification to original equipment is that the smaller spider gears in the carrier needed 4mm grinded off the face for the unit to fit into the center.
Ridlbox
Top Notch Member
My tercel:: 1984 Toyota Tercel SR 5 custom aluminum rims 4 a motor custom rims Bluetooth stereo system

Re: LSD Solution

Post by Ridlbox »

Do you have any photographs of the conversion
i will find a tercel in a music video
That's my new goal 8)
teranfirbt
Highest Ranking Member
My tercel:: '86 SR5 4WD, 5AFE, lifted rear, 195/70/14 tires

Post by teranfirbt »

Interesting, do you have any more details?
larry mcgrath
Highest Ranking Member
My tercel:: 83 tercel v20 B/T (The ROCKET)98 toyota t100

Post by larry mcgrath »

For sure some pix,and more info- The Rocket could realy use this, it's tough on rt front tires Larry
djcrawford1981

Post by djcrawford1981 »

Sorry I was in a hurry and didn't take pics but I'll put a YouTube link of a guy installing it in a Acura that I used. http://m.youtube.com/watch?v=tGLXKLFiDpA
Our axle gears do not have the lip like this guys but the spider gears were to fat to clear the unit so I did grind them down.
djcrawford1981

Post by djcrawford1981 »

diff(1).JPG
These are the dimensions of our diff should you want to find one that doesn't require grinding. The B distance of the Acura unit was 47mm and for the love of God don't let some one sell you one of these for more then $140,I got lucky and found one on eBay from Poland for $100 shipped.
A. 0.96 in / 24.5 mm