A Total Novice's Start with a 1984 4x4 SR5 -- Advice Thread

General discussion about our beloved Tercel 4WD cars
lucafusi
Advanced Member
My tercel:: 1984 Tercel 4WD SR5

A Total Novice's Start with a 1984 4x4 SR5 -- Advice Thread

Post by lucafusi »

Hey all,

I'm the beaming new owner of a 1984 4x4 SR5 (166k miles). It just showed up today, and I've taken her for a spin around the burbs, including some hills and highways. It's my first time with a carburated engine and certainly with driving a car this old, so I'm adjusting to the handling, but loving it so far. I bought myself a hobby, and it's time to dive in with some introductory work and maintenance.

I have zero mechanical background, but the time and inclination to get started (and a car that'll likely demand it before long). According to the FAQ, here's what I'm thinking for my introductory shotlist. If any of this stuff's been done super recently by the previous owner, with whom I'm still shoring up the sale, I may skip over it, but I think it's best that I go through the litany of basic mechanical work to learn by doing.

What I'm doing to develop basic familiarity:
  • I've got the owner's manual, which I'll be working through as some bedtime / bus-time reading over the next little while
  • I've got a big list of ChrisFix videos to slowly digest to help start to understand how the gnarly assemblage of parts that is A Car even comes together and works
Here's my other intro shotlist:
  • Replace air and fuel filters
  • Change oil / oil filter
  • Change coolant
  • Change spark plugs
  • Change transmission / differential oils
  • Inspect brake hoses
And some stuff I noticed off the bat that I'll want to diagnose: